MAC Brush Cleanser / MAC Cleanse Off Oil vs. Clinique Rinse-Off

Hey guys! Happy Tuesday 🙂 I hope your Tuesday is going well for you and that your week has started to a great start! You’re gonna kill it.

So last week I ordered the MAC brush cleanser because my make-up brushes desperately needed cleaning and repairing! I came across another blogger’s, the Pink Apple, post about the MAC brush cleanser and decided I would give it a try. Don’t go buying new brushes! Save money and save the environment by just cleaning your other ones. Well with an online MAC purchase as a Select member, you get a free sample (yay!) and I decided to try the cleanse off oil. Funny story about that… I thought that “cleanse off oil” meant that it would cleanse off the oil from your face, so I was a little shocked when I received it. Also it was way smaller than I expected. However, I ended up loving it and am still using it. You’ll catch the deets below. 

So here are a few photos of before and after cleaning my brushes. Befores are on the left/top, Afters are on the right/bottom.

The process at which I cleaned the brushes are as follows:

  1. Wet brush
  2. Apply a generous amount of MAC brush cleanser to the brush (just like you would soap on your dishes) I had to apply more than I thought because a little bit doesn’t really go a long way with this stuff.
  3. Rub through the brush before putting it under the water.
  4. Put brush with cleaner on it under the water and rub through some more to get all the make up out. You’ll be surprised at how much make up actually comes out, so easily.
  5. After seeing a significant difference and rinsing all make up out, form brush back into the shape it’s supposed to be and place aside to air dry. Rinse the next.
  6. After cleansing all brushes, wash off hands with the MAC brush cleanser because I’m sure you’ve got make up all over your hands and nails. Follow with regular soap.

IMG_1636

^ This is a sponge I got from TJMaxx. I spent a lot of time trying to get all the make up out/off of this one and it just wasn’t happening. Maybe I was doing something wrong but not all of it came out. It still looks way better than before though! It was funny to see the sponge get so much bigger under the water and squeezing the foundation out.

IMG_1635

^ This is one end of a brush (other end is next) of which I do not know the brand. It doesn’t say. I could have possibly worn it off. Looks brand new and brought its color back!

IMG_1634

^ This one has such a clear change. I love that the color is back. Again, it’s a brush I do not know the brand name of.

IMG_1633

^ This brush had a lot of foundation in it. Now I can use it for powder or anything else because it is no longer stiff. The brand name is realTechniques by Samantha Chapman. It is a concealer brush and it’s supposed to have a white end but I just didn’t get that color back.

IMG_1631

^ This one is so fluffy now! I love it. This is a Bamboo Naturals foundation brush.

IMG_1630

^ This is an e.l.f. eye shadow brush that has been so loyal to me for so long and needed a good cleaning! She’s just as new now.

IMG_1629IMG_1628

^ This is my fave stuff here. This is the Anastasia 12 brush for brows. It’s got the brush on one side for your dipbrow and the eyebrow brush on the other side to smooth out the color and to shape your brows back into place. This can get very messy very quick. It’s kind of a pricey buy, so you don’t want to have to buy a new one every month. Just wash it through and it will be good as new! I would also suggest every time before and after use of the brush, wiping it off on a Kleenex and that will help you to not need to clean it as often.

So here is how I liked these products I used:

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

The MAC brush cleanser – Being that this stuff (7.9 ounces) is only $15 I think it is a buy well worth it. It works very quickly, but you do have to use quite a bit on there. This bottle was full before I used it for these brushes I cleansed above ^. I like it and recommend it. It’s going to last you a while and save you a lot of money from having to buy new brushes.

MAC cleanse off oil – This stuff is my jam!! I love it SO much. The smell is my most favorite part. You apply it to your dry face, and rinse off with water and it is amazing. In case you don’t know what cleanse off oil is, it is a make up remover. This is very gentle on your skin and a little bit goes a long way because it is an oil. It does not make your face oily though. It is botanically formulated with oils of olive fruit, evening primrose and jojoba seed and completely free of mineral oil. It will even remove your waterproof mascara. I might have to buy the full size because the smell is just so great and it works great. The full size of 5 ounces is $31.

Now, since I got this MAC cleanse off oil and fell in love with it… That means I have to think about whether or not I should toss out this Clinique rinse-off foaming cleanser I have… They serve the same purpose but this MAC stuff smells just so great.

The foaming cleanser is great and I have three small bottles of it because of Clinique bonuses and it really does work really well. When I run out of my MAC sample, I will have to go back to using it. Unless I buy the MAC full sized cleanse off oil. But I need to use what I have first, and it’s not like it doesn’t work! It truly works great. BUT if I had to choose, I would choose the MAC cleanse off oil.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Woohoo! So that’s all I have for you guys today. Feel free to comment any questions about anything I mentioned in this blog! Side note: I received my Living Proof dry shampoo in the mail today! YAY! I am SO excited to try this stuff and let y’all know how I love it. I, and I’m sure you too, have heard nothing but wonderful things about this. I love Living Proof to begin with anyway, so this is just perfect for me.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

xx, Claire

 

2 thoughts on “MAC Brush Cleanser / MAC Cleanse Off Oil vs. Clinique Rinse-Off

Leave a Reply

